Councillor Sean Morgan



Member of:

Cllr. Sean Morgan serves as Leader of the Council for Caerphilly County Borough Council, living in his hometown of Nelson where he serves as local ward member.

Educated at the Cardinal Newman School in Rhydfelin and attended College at Ystrad Mynach, he has also attained a number of work based, professional qualifications. He is married to Joy, his wife of 29 years and has two grown up children.

His career has many strands but has been mainly focused on renovating commercial properties and bringing them back into beneficial commercial use, many of these small businesses continue to flourish and his interest in economy, infrastructure and sustainability stems from this work.

Starting his political career in 2012, when he was elected as a local ward member for Nelson, Cllr. Morgan has served as the Chair of the Policy and Resources Scrutiny Committee and in 2017 became a member of the Cabinet and the Deputy Leader of Council.

An active member within his local community, Cllr. Morgan is a member of the Nelson Community Council and is also the Chair of the Nelson Community Centre Management Committee. Cllr. Morgan has close working links with the local police, allotments associations, local schools and local sporting clubs. Cllr Morgan is regularly to be seen in the village and also keeps people informed via Facebook with his regular “NELSON UPDATES”.

He is a keen cyclist and runner and enjoys family camping holidays in Europe and taking part in outdoor sporting activities.

Meet the team

Councillor Amanda Owen


Councillor John Spanswick


Councillor Andrew Morgan

Rhondda Cynon Taf

Councillor Ann Crimmings

Rhondda Cynon Taf

Councillor Anthony Hunt

Torfaen. Chair, Cardiff Capital Region

Julian Stedman

Chair of Planning at Brecon Beacons National Park

Skip to content