Upgrade to ChromeUpgrade to FirefoxUpgrade to Internet ExplorerUpgrade to Safari

Transport Authority

Cardiff Capital Region Transport Authority

One of the Cardiff Capital Region (CCR)’s objectives is to connect communities, business, jobs, facilities and services in the area.  The CCR Transport Authority, working closely with the Welsh Government, Transport for Wales and others, has been established as a sub-committee by the CCR Cabinet to facilitate the City Deal by coordinating transport planning and investment across the region. The development and integration of a new transport system plays a vital role in the economic transformation of the CCR as it is essential for connecting communities and will enable individuals to travel. The improved transportation of the Capital Region can also bring potential opportunities to new areas for further economic development and expansion. The CCR Transport Authority, which is chaired by the Leader of Bridgend County Borough Council, Councillor Huw David, plays a key role in advising the CCR Cabinet on recommended strategies to achieve transport objectives within the region. It works closely with and supports local authorities in any transport-related collaboration and imparts transport expertise when needed. One of the main priorities with regards to an improved transportation is the delivery of the South Wales Metro. £738million of the City Deal fund has been pre-allocated for the project, which will be split between the Valley Lines Electrification programme and the wider South Wales Metro scheme. The Department of Transport and Welsh Government will hold the main responsibilities for both. For more information on the South East Wales Metro, visit Transport for Wales.

The members of the CCR Transport Authority are:

Councillor Garth Collier

Blaenau Gwent

Councillor Huw David

Bridgend. Chair, Transport Authority
Richard Young

Councillor Richard Young

Councillor Sean Morgan

Councillor Sean Morgan


Councillor Caro Wild


Councillor Kevin Gibbs

Merthyr Tydfil
Bryan Jones

Councillor Bryan Jones

Councillor Roger Jeavons

Councillor Roger Jeavons

Andrew Morgan

Councillor Andrew Morgan

Rhondda Cynon Taf. Chair, Cardiff Capital Region
View biography
Councillor Fiona Cross

Councillor Fiona Cross

Councillor Geoffrey Cox

Councillor Geoffrey Cox

Vale of Glamorgan
CCR Chevron


The CCR City Deal Wider Investment Fund is now open for applications. If you have a project with the potential to make a real positive impact on the regional economy, we want to hear from you.

How to Apply